FDIC Phishing Scam

When I opened my email this morning, I had a message from the Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation (FDIC), a U.S. government agency, telling me that my account was losing FDIC insurance because of violations of the Patriot Act.  Luckily, the email had a link for me to follow to access the FDIC’s verification system which would allow me to remedy the situation. 

This email turns out to be another clever phishing scam.  If you follow the link, your personal information may be compromised or crimeware may be installed on your machine.  Read the FDIC’s Special Alert

 Actually, I was lucky.  Because I use eMail ID, it is easy for me to determine if an email from the FDIC is really from the FDIC.  

inbox

When I get an email from the FDIC, I know it is from the FDIC. 

Know who.  No Doubt.  eMail ID.

Leave a Reply

